Economic Development Commission

Mission Statement

EDC’s Mission is to retain, expand, attract, and recruit new businesses to current vacancies, plus support the needs, growth, and success of our existing businesses to achieve overall economic health, prosperity, and vitality throughout our business community.

Overview / Vision

Mount Airy is a diverse, dynamic, and thriving municipality and the heart of four counties: Carroll, Frederick, Howard, and Montgomery.

The Economic Development Commission consists of business and citizen volunteers dedicated to supporting the business community and striving to provide a healthy, thriving, high quality experience for all our residents, businesses and visitors.

The Commission works together with its partners, The Greater Mount Airy Chamber of Commerce, (GMACC) and The Mount Airy Main Street Association, (MAMSA) as well as other civic groups and organizations to support all the industries within our business community. Whether your business is new, existing, or looking to expand, we are here to help and guide you in any way that we can.

To achieve this vision, the Commission will work to maintain Mount Airy’s reputation as a highly desirable place to live, work, and play, with a well-rounded workforce as well as maximize the community's strategic location as a valuable resource and a robust, prosperous suburban hub encompassing many industries from restaurants and retail, food service and catering, finance and technology, medical and professional, automotive, and other trades as well as agricultural and manufacturing. 


  • 7 p.m.
  • The 4th Wednesday of every month
  • 110 S Main Street
    Town Hall
    Mount Airy, MD 21771

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • Donnamarie Needle - Chairman (July 2022)
  • Karl Munder - Council Liaison (May 2023)
  • Josiah Timmerman - Secretary 
    (July 2025)
  • Raymond Miller (May 2023)
  • Darlene Davidson-Union (December 2024)
  • Jimmy Linton (September 2025)
  • Dan McNeill (February 2023)
  • Morgan Rock (July 2025)
  • Jeanette Bingaman (March 2026)

Click the picture below to contact the Economic Development Commission

Economic Development Commission Feedback

Click the link below for a business listing.