Water & Sewer Commission



  • 7 p.m.
  • The 1st Wednesday of every month
  • Mount Airy Town Hall
    110 S Main Street
    Mount Airy, MD 21771

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Most Recent Agendas

Past Meeting Minutes


Current members of the Water and Sewer Commission include:

  • Dick Swanson - Chairman (August 2027)
  • Tim Washabaugh - Council Liaison (May 2027)
  • Fran Sonkin (December 2025)
  • Nathan Burch (May 2024)
  • John Cherry (September 2023)
  • David Difonzo (September 2024)
  • Vacant 


The Mount Airy Water and Sewer Commission was created to monitor all functions of our Town Water and Sewer infrastructure and contribute useful research to look in to making our system more efficient. This also includes detailed research and analysis into water and sewer operations, costs and rates for our citizens. We vigilantly safeguard our water supplies and once again we are proud to report that our system has never violated a maximum contaminant level or any other water quality standard. In addition, the Commission works with the Carroll County Water Resource Coordination Council to address storm-water-management and remediation issues including meeting State and Federal permitting requirements.


Click below to submit Feedback to the Water & Sewer Commission

Water and Sewer Commission Feedback

Stormwater Pollution Hotline

Non-Emergency Stormwater Hotline

Please call if you are concerned about the release of pollutants or possible illegal dumping into a storm drain system between the hours of 8:00 AM to 3:00 PM.


Stormwater in Carroll County and the eight incorporated municipalities is regulated by law under Phase I and Phase II Municipal Separate Storm Sewer (MS4) permits under EPA's National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System program administered through the Maryland Department of the Environment.

For emergency hazardous spills, such as fuel or petroleum, etc., contact 911.

 Emergency Public Water/Sewer Contact #’s for Municipalities and County (i.e., Line Breaks, Clogs, Overflows, etc.)

Town of Mount Airy

  • For water or sewer problems during normal business hours, contact 301-831-7844.
  • For water or sewer emergency after hours (that cannot wait until next day only), contact 240-793-3697.